• Academic
    Last Updated On Dec 15 2020 12:55PM
    [ Printable Version ]

    Pre-primary Schools :

    The Sanstha runs 47 Pre-primary schools (English medium-29) in 5 regions to promote the intellectual growth of the students and to make them good learners at the initial stage.


    Primary Schools:

    The Period of primary education is the base of learners’ educational achievements and developments in the future. The Sanstha runs 62 Primary schools. Out of these 21 schools provide co-education, one is girls school and 28 are English medium schools.


    Secondary Schools :-

    Dr. Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil turned to secondary education by establishing the Maharaja Sayajirao High-School in 1940. It was free and residential. The students had to stay in the boarding-houses and meet the expenditure incurred on their education by working in "Earn and Learn" scheme of the Sanstha. Bhaurao associated education with manual work and gave new meaning to it. The poor and needy students could keep their feeling of self-respect intact through such a novel scheme of self-reliant education. While paying homage to Mahatma Gandhi after his tragic assassination , Bhaurao expressed his resolve to open 101 schools in the name of the Father of Nation and fulfilled it. At present, the Sanstha runs as many as 444 Secondary Schools including 191 Higher Secondary Schools, 53 Technical Schools, and 26 Girls Schools. The people donate their land, labour and money to help construct the buildings of the schools.

    Junior Colleges:

    The Sanstha has 216 Jr.Colleges affiliated to Secondary Schools and 25 Junior Colleges affiliated to Senior Colleges. These Colleges impart education of the disciplines of Arts, Commerce, Science and Vocational Education. The Student of Science have been given the extra guidance classes facility to face MH-CET successfully to get admission to Medical and Engineering Branches. These Colleges are spread over the five regions of the Sanstha Jurisdiction namely Central region, Southern region, Northern region, Western region and Raigad region.


    Training Colleges for Teachers :-

    It was the avowed policy of the Karmaveer that "there should be no village without a school and no school without a trained. teacher." The mass education at primary level was the need of the hour and the opening of primary schools on a large scale was the only remedy to meet this need. But the difficulty was the paucity of adequate number of trained primary teachers to work in such schools. Bhaurao, therefore, started a Training College, the Silver Jubilee Rural Training College ( Mahatma Phule Adhyapak Vidyalaya, at present )  for the male teachers and the Jijamata Training College for the female teachers, in 1935 and 1942 respectively. Today, the Sanstha conducts 7 Training Colleges(1 of them is women).

    Higher Education :-

    Dr. Karmaveer Bhaurao’s next step was to bring the portals of higher education within the reach of the poor masses. He, therefore, started a free and residential college at Satara in 1947. This was Chhatrapati Shivaji College.

    The opening of this college was a great social event as it was going to provide stimulus to the poor and needy students to help them acquire higher education by the sweat of their brow and make them self-supporting , able-bodied and able-minded youths to launch the campaign of social transformation,  he had foreseen. Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil’s Manual Labour Scheme gave the college a stamp, which neither time nor age could wipe out. It is the heart of his educational philosophy at large. It was through this scheme that his motto "Education Through Self-help" attained its real meaning and glory. The scheme provides manual labour in farming dairying, gardening, building and construction , road-repairs, sweeping, cleaning, cooking, management of canteens and flourmills etc. At present, many branches of the Sanstha possess  cultivable lands which have become the centres of the experiment of "Earn while you Learn" Scheme. Today, the Sanstha runs 42 colleges imparting instruction in the faculties of Arts. Science, Commerce and also professional faculties of Education, Law and Engineering . The post-graduate courses are offered in colleges of the Sanstha.


    The Sanstha Conduct various M.C.V.C. sections at 53 different branches in different regions- Central(16), South(18), North(9), Western(7) and Raigad(3). These courses provide competency based programmes.


    Ashramashalas :-

    As “Education for the Deprived” has been the article of faith for the Rayat Shikshan Sanstha, it has focused its attention on the education of the Adivasis inhabiting the hilly areas of the country for centuries together. The Sanstha has started Ashramshalas for their education.